Skip to main content

Identity Assurance & Trusted Access Division

The Identity Assurance and Trusted Access (IATA) Division provides leadership and implementation on governmentwide programs and activities including:

1) Federal Identity, Credential and Access Management (FICAM) Program, which is tasked with aligning the Identity Management Activities of the US Government. More information can be found at

2) Operation and maintenance of the DotGov Top Level Domain as well as Policy administration of same. More information can be found at

3) Execution of the Governance functions of the Federal Public Key Infrastructure (FPKI) by Chairing the Federal PKI Policy Authority, which is an interagency body set up under the Federal CIO Council.

4) Management of the FIPS 201 Evaluation Program which includes the development and maintenance of government-wide testing and evaluation conforming to NIST guidelines to assure that the GSA Approved Products List (APL) consists of products that have passed rigorous T&E for products relating to HSPD-12 and other products.


Jim Sheire
(202) 251-5679

Identity,Assurance,and Trusted,Access,Division