Skip to main content

FY 2014 Per Diem Highlights

GSA establishes the per diem rates for the lower 48 Continental United States (CONUS), which are the maximum allowances that federal employees are reimbursed for expenses incurred while on official travel.

The CONUS per diem rate for an area is actually three allowances: the lodging allowance, the meals allowance and the incidental expense allowance. Most of the CONUS (approximately 2600 counties) are covered by the standard CONUS per diem rate of $129 ($83 lodging, $46 meals and incidental expenses). In fiscal year (FY) 2014, there continue to be about 400 Non-Standard Areas (NSAs) that have per diem rates higher than the standard CONUS rate.

Since FY 2005, NSA rates have been based on Average Daily Rate (ADR) data from the lodging industry, which GSA obtains through a contract with a leading provider of lodging industry data. For more about how per diem rates are determined, visit Factors Influencing Lodging Rates. The ADR is a widely accepted lodging-industry measure based upon a property's room rental revenue divided by the number of rooms rented as reported by the hotel property to the contractor. This calculation provides GSA with the average rate in a given area.

As in previous years, GSA still uses:

  • Only "fire safe" properties; GSA is required by law to use only properties that are certified as being in compliance with the Hotel & Motel Fire Safety Act of 1990.
  • Properties that fall within the mid-price range.
  • Data from the prior 12-month period. For FY 2014, this is from April 2012 through March 2013;
  • Business travel week data (Monday through Thursday)

Agencies are reminded that the Federal Travel Regulation allows for actual expense reimbursement when per diem rates are insufficient to meet necessary expenses. Please see FTR §301-11.300 through 306 for more information.


FY 2014 Results:

Midyear Update:  As of April 1, 2014, Shepherdstown, WV (Jefferson County) is now a non-standard area.

Two locations will become new NSAs in FY 2014: Big Spring, TX (Howard County); and Pearsall, TX (Frio, La Salle, and Medina Counties).

The City of Hershey, PA, is now a separate NSA from Harrisburg, PA. In addition, Pasco, WA (Franklin County) and Richland, WA (Benton County) have been merged into a single NSA. Finally, Hendry County, FL is now included with the Palm Beach County, FL NSA location.

In FY 2014, 29 locations that were NSAs in FY 2013 will move into the standard CONUS rate category. They include:


Destination State
Montgomery AL
Kayenta AZ
Sierra Vista AZ
Yuma AZ
Benicia / Dixon / Fairfield CA
Altamonte Springs FL
Jacksonville / Jacksonville Beach / Mayport Naval Station FL
Kissimmee FL
Lakeland FL
Ocala FL
Columbus GA
Michigan City IN
Valparaiso / Burlington Beach IN
Lafayette LA
Hagerstown MD
La Plata / Indian Head / Waldorf MD
Mount Pleasant MI
Columbia MO
Jefferson City MO
St. Robert MO
Gulfport / Biloxi / Picayune MS
Greenville NC
Winston-Salem NC
Albuquerque NM
Ashland / Crater Lake OR
Greenville SC
Beaumont TX
Chesterfield / Henrico Counties VA
Shepherdstown WV


FY 2013 Highlights Per Diem Rates